Date: 5th December 2013 at 9:34am
Written by:

Formula One’s 2014 calendar has dropped down from 22 races to 19, with the loss of both New Jersey and Mexico, alongside Korea.

Both new venues in New Jersey and Mexico had hoped to have been new tracks for next seasons Formula One schedule, but their addition was always under-threat.

Since September experts in the Formula One paddock have thought that both proposed new Grand Prix would eventually drop off the calendar, once the FIA announced the new definitive schedule.

The new venues had only been given provisional slots on the draft calendar which was released earlier this year.

A lot of people in the Formula One paddock remained sceptical about a race in New Jersey, despite it holding a contract for next season and reportedly currently having the funding in place and their scepticism proved correct with news that the event would be postponed for a second straight year.

While the Mexican Grand Prix organisers always had their work cut out to complete major upgrade works at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit.

The dropping of the Korean Grand Prix will not come as a surprise, it’s struggled financially and has repeatedly asked for the race fee to be reduced.

The Yeongam circuit is barely used and plans to build a city around the track have been shelved.

With the absence of the Indian Grand Prix already confirmed, the 2014 Formula One Calendar will have two new races next season in comparison to previous years.

Formula One will make it’s first move into the Russian market in October, with Sochi hosting the Grand Prix.

Whilst Formula One will also return to Austria and to the newly refurbished ‘Red Bull Ring’.

Full 2014 F1 schedule:

March 16th – Australia (Melbourne)

March 30th – Malaysia (Sepang)

April 6th – Bahrain (Sakhir)

April 20th – China (Shanghai)

May 11th – Spain (Barcelona)

May 25th – Monaco (Monte Carlo)

June 8th – Canada (Montreal)

June 22nd – Austria (Red Bull Ring)

July 6th – Britain (Silverstone)

July 20th – Germany (Hockenheim)

July 27th – Hungary (Budapest)

August 24th – Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 7th – Italy (Monza)

September 21st – Singapore (Marina Bay)

October 5th – Japan (Suzuka)

October 12th – Russia (Sochi)

November 2nd – USA (Austin)

November 9th – Brazil (Sao Paulo)

November 23rd – Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)