Date: 7th March 2012 at 3:10pm
Written by:

The British Grand Prix is seen by many as the home of Formula One.

The first race in Formula One was hosted by Silverstone in 1950 has and is used as a home by a variety of Formula One teams.

Despite its obvious history, the first British Grand Prix was actually held at Brooklands in 1926 and 1927, before moving to Silverstone in 1948.

Between 1955 and 1962, Aintree and Silverstone shared the British GP and between 1963 and 1986 Brands Hatch and Silverstone alternated as the host circuit.

Since 1987 Silverstone has held the event every year and following contractual issues being resolved, Silverstone will continue to do so for many years to come.

Jim Clarke and Alain Prost are the most successful drivers winning the British GP five times.

Race Day: Jul 8 – BBC & Sky

Laps: 52

2011 Winner: Fernando Alonso