Date: 18th May 2015 at 9:13am
Written by:

Following the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona the Formula One teams remained in Barcelona for two days of testing.

Every team with the exception of Manor Marussia conducted a test, but only Mercedes, Sauber, Red Bull, Lotus and Williams handed their cars over to their race drivers on the first day of the test.

Nico Rosberg continued his good form for Mercedes from the weekend setting a time of 1m 24.374s, that time was actually faster than the time he set to qualify on pole position.

The German completed 146 laps for Mercedes over the course of the day and his best time ended the day 2.2 seconds quicker than anyone else.

?The track was a little bit quicker than over the race weekend and we did many laps, so I?m a bit tired! But it?s my only test during the season so it?s important. Rosberg told

Day One test results

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m 24.374s
2 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1m 26.624s
3 Raffaele Marciello Ferrari 1m 26.648s
4 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1m 26.904s
5 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1m 27.338s
6 Nick Yelloly Force India 1m 27.396s
7 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1m 27.639s
8 Felipe Massa Williams 1m 27.911s
9 Oliver Turvey McLaren 1m 28.542s

On day two, no-one could get any where near the time set by Rosberg on day one.

The fastest of the day was Jolyon Palmer for Lotus with a time of 1m 26.080s.

He told ‘I think we’ve made real progress as a team with the set-up of the car and I know I’m improving every time I get in the car, We ran through a lot of different programmes and assessments and it was a great day at the office for me.’

McLaren and Toro Rosso were the only teams to use their race drivers on the second day.

2009 Formula One World Champion Jenson Button completed 100 laps for McLaren Honda, setting the fourth fastest time of the day.

Carlos Sainz completed 126 laps for Toro Rosso.

Day Two test results

1 Jolyon Palmer Lotus 1m 26.080s
2 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 1m 26.497s
3 Pierre Gasly Red Bull 1m 26.683s
4 Jenson Button McLaren 1m 26.927s
5 Alex Lynn Williams 1m 26.967s
6 Esteban Ocon Force India 1m 27.520s
7 Esteban Gutierrez Ferrari 1m 27.930s
8 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1m 27.997s
9 Raffaele Marciello Ferrari 1m 28.829s