Date: 1st December 2011 at 9:33am
Written by:

The FIA have published the official entry list for the 2012 Formula One World Championship.

Obviously at this stage of the season it is all provisional, with nine seats officially open, however most spots have at least got someone pencilled in.

The list also confirms the three teams changing their name for 2012 with Renault becoming Lotus, Lotus becoming Caterham, and Virgin becoming Marussia.

HRT are also yet to name their engine supplier, however it is widely thought that they will continue with Cosworth.

Red Bull Racing Renault

1. Sebastian Vettel

2. Mark Webber

McLaren Mercedes

3. Jenson Button

4. Lewis Hamilton


5. Fernando Alonso

6. Felipe Massa


7. Michael Schumacher

8. Nico Rosberg

Lotus Renault

9. Kimi Raikkonen

10. TBA

Force India Mercedes

11. TBA

12. TBA

Sauber Ferrari

14. Kamui Kobayashi

15. Sergio Perez

STR Ferrari

16. TBA

17. TBA

Williams Renault

18. TBA

19. TBA

Caterham Renault

20. Heikki Kovalainen

21. Jarno Trulli


22. TBA

23. TBA

Marussia Cosworth

24. Timo Glock

25. Charles Pic

Red Bull, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes, Sauber and Caterham are the only teams to so far name unchanged driver line-ups, however Jenson Button does take the number 3 car ahead of Lewis Hamilton after Button beat Hamilton in this seasons F1 Drivers World Championship.

Kimi Raikkonen’s new team-mate at Lotus is yet to be named, leaving Bruno Senna, Vitaly Petrov and Robert Kubica’s immediate futures in doubt.

Force India haven’t named either driver for 2012, however Paul di Resta is expected to keep his seat, with Adrian Sutil expected to make way for Nico Hulkenberg who this season was test driver.

If Adrian Sutil does lose his seat with Force India, he could make the move to Williams who along with Toro Rosso and HRT, haven’t named either driver for next season [although HRT have previously confirmed they have signed Pedro de la Rosa].