Date: 20th May 2015 at 9:22am
Written by:

Lewis Hamilton wants to add to his solitary Monaco Grand Prix victory.

Hamilton doesn’t hold the greatest of records in Monaco.

The British driver has only won the race once, the 2008 Grand Prix whilst racing for McLaren.

Whilst in 2007 and 2014 Hamilton made his only other appearances on the podium, on both occasions finishing second.

?I?ve not won that race for a long, long time ? I?ve only won it once ? so this is going to be my third chance with this great team [Mercedes] and with a great car. So hopefully third time lucky.? Hamilton told Sky Sports.

Only 14 drivers in the history of Formula One have won around the streets of Monte Carlo on multiple occasions.

Hamilton’s idol Aryton Senna holds the record with six victories in 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993.

‘naturally Monaco is the race everyone wants to win. I?ve literally lost three opportunities that I?ve had ? maybe four ? over my career with the car to do it. So I?ve had five opportunities, I?ve won one.?

Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg is also aiming to join an elite club.

Only three drivers in Formula One history have won a hat-trick of consecutive Monaco Grand Prix victories.

The first was Graham Hill in 1963, 1964 and 1965, the feat was repeated by Alain Prost in 1984, 1985 and 1986 before Ayrton Senna won the race five times in a row.

Rosberg goes into the 2015 Monaco Grand Prix having won in both 2013 and 2014.