Date: 15th December 2014 at 8:44am
Written by:

Lewis Hamilton has won the 2014 BBC Sports Personality Of The Year award.

The British driver was awarded the prize following a public vote at the glittering end-of-season awards bash which celebrates Britain’s achievements in sport over the past twelve months.

Hamilton took 34% of the vote, with 209,920 of the 620,932 votes cast for Hamilton.

Second place went to Northern Irish golfer Rory McIlroy [123,745], whilst ‘super mum’ athlete Jo Pavey came third [99,913].

It was the first time Hamilton had won the award, having previously missed out in 2007 and 2008.

After almost clinching the Formula One World Championship in his rookie season in 2007 he missed out on the BBC award to boxer Joe Calzaghe.

In 2008 after winning his maiden Formula One title, he lost out to Sir Chris Hoy and Hamilton had believed that he would miss out to McIlroy following his second F1 title this season.

‘I was sitting there saying Rory’s going to have it, I thought it had to be someone else.’ he told the BBC.

‘I want to say a huge thank you to all the people who called in, I really wasn’t expecting it, I am so speechless. I’m so proud and honoured to be among such great sporting talent.’

With Lewis Hamilton becoming Britain’s first multiple Formula One World Champion in 40 years and now the holder of the record for most wins by a British driver, it is a fitting end to the year for Hamilton.

Previous winners of the gong from Formula One are: Stirling Moss 1961, Sir Jackie Stewart 1973, Nigel Mansell 1986 and 1992 and Damon Hill 1994 and 1996.