Date: 16th April 2014 at 8:54am
Written by:

Having had their place on the Formula One grid granted, American team owner Gene Haas might defer their entry until 2016.

The FIA announced in December that they had opened the tendering process for a new team to enter Formula One as early as 2015.

The Formula One paddock shrank to eleven teams after the former Hispania/HRT team dissolved at the end of the 2012 season.

It brought an end to the team after just two seasons.

So the news of a new ’12th team’ to enter the sport is excellent news, especially a veteran motor sport team like that of American outfit Haas.

Haas has had many years in American motor racing, he co-owned the Indy Car team Newman-Haas which 1992 Formula One World Champion Nigel Mansell won the 1993 title with and alongside Tony Stewart, he now owns a team in USA’s top motor sport series NASCAR.

He’s also affiliated with Guenther Steiner, a former technical director at Red Bull and Jaguar and he aims to give the establishment a run for their money once the team is ready to compete.

‘Things have changed a lot since the last Americans have been involved in [F1]. I think you get the impression that sometimes people think that the European way of racing is so much more advanced than the Americans. But we’re the most advanced country on the planet,’ he told Sky Sports.

‘I can’t imagine why we can’t do this. I don’t see any reasons why we can’t. It’s just basically racing. Parts are more expensive, the coffee is a lot more expensive, certainly, but I think we can bring a more rational way to do this.

‘We’ll figure it out. The car will eventually evolve into our own car, and quite frankly, I think we can beat the Europeans at their own game.’

Haas have opened talks with Italian chassis manufacturer Dallara regarding their first development, however talks over an engine are yet to be held.

When Haas look to enter Formula One they will have four engine manufacturers to hold talks with Mercedes, Ferrari, Renault, and Honda, who return to the sport with McLaren in 2015.