Date: 14th November 2014 at 8:54am
Written by:

Honda will debut their new Formula One engine today at Silverstone.

McLaren end their 20-year partnership with Mercedes at the end of the season, switching back to Honda for 2015.

McLaren Honda enjoyed huge success in the 1980’s and early 1990’s.

Ayrton Senna won the 1988 Formula One drivers championship as the team also took the constructors title.

In 1989 Alain Prost took the title as McLaren successfully defended the constructors crown.

In 1990 Senna took the drivers title as McLaren once again won the constructors championship.

In 1991 Senna won his third and final drivers championship, as McLaren’s dominance continued.

But in 1992 the combination of Nigel Mansell and Williams Renault dominated Formula One with McLaren Honda placed 2nd in the Constructors Championship.

Honda withdrew from Formula One and did not return until 2000 with British American Racing.

They remained in Formula One until 2009 supplying engines for BAR, Jordan and Super Aguri and ran a works team through 2006-2008.

They once again withdrew from Formula One in 2009, but return next season with McLaren.

The official filming day will see McLaren run an ‘interim’ car, with the team limited to 100 kilometres of testing.

With McLaren’s 2015 driver line-up unconfirmed test drivers Oliver Turvey and Stoffel Vandoorne will be the ones to take the new car and engine out on the Silverstone track.