Date: 25th June 2015 at 8:10am
Written by:

Nico Rosberg jumped into the Mercedes for the second and final day of testing at the Red Bull Ring.

With the rain in Austria staying away from the track the 2015 Formula One World Championship challenger completed a time of 1minute 09.113s on route to completing 117 laps of testing.

There were more full time drivers taking part in the second test with Valtteri Bottas for Williams, Fernando Alonso for McLaren, Daniel Ricciardo for Red Bull and Felipe Nasr for Sauber all getting good running.

The second fastest team of the day were Ferrari, with former Sauber driver Esteban Gutierrez only 0.818seconds off the pace of Rosberg whilst completing 110 laps.

Bottas was third fastest, 0.916seconds off the fastest time however Williams might have been disappointed with only 79 laps completed.

Marco Wittmann was fourth for Toro Rosso, completing the most laps of the day with a total of 158.

Pascal Wehrlein who completed the first day of testing for Mercedes took part in the second day with Force India completing 132 laps.

GP2 Champion Jolyon Palmer completed 110 laps for Lotus with the sixth fastest time of the day, whilst two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso completed 104 laps for McLaren.

Ricciardo and Nasr rounded off the timing sheets with Manor Marussia not taking part.

‘To get in more than 100 laps was very good, We learned a few things and we tested a lot of stuff. We had a big aero rake on the car this morning that looked like something out of ?The Terminator? but it?s all good information for the aero guys and will help going forward. We have some updates coming to Silverstone as well, so I hope we can take the fight to our immediate rivals.’ Ricciardo told the media after the session ended.

Times for Day Two

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m 09.113s
2 Esteban Gutierrez Ferrari 1m 09.931s
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1m 10.029s
4 Marco Wittmann Toro Rosso 1m 10.103s
5 Pascal Wehrlein Force India 1m 10.253s
6 Jolyon Palmer Lotus 1m 10.373s
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1m 10.718s
8 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1m 10.757s
9 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1m 10.922s