Date: 28th December 2012 at 2:53pm
Written by:

Both McLaren and Force India have announced when their new 2013 Formula One Championship challengers will be launched ahead of the new season.

Formula One is officially back on track in Jerez in Spain for the first winter test on February 5th.

Obviously all the teams will unveil their cars ahead of that date, although some may leave it till the last minute.

The McLaren MP4-28 will be launched on Thursday January 31st, probably at the McLaren Technology Centre although this is yet to be confirmed.

McLaren will be spearheaded by 2009 Formula One World Champion Jenson Button who will be the teams leader, with Sergio Perez making the step over from Sauber.

Force India will launch their 2013 car at Silverstone on February 1st.

Nico Hulkenburg is as yet the teams only confirmed driver for 2013 with the German also leaving Sauber. It is expected that British driver Paul di Resta will remain with the team.

The Scottish driver has already been quoted in the media about the teams targets for the upcoming season. Force India dropped down to seventh in the Constructors championship in 2012, but in 2013 di Resta believes that the team will be targeting fifth.

‘We’re hoping to finish fifth overall in the Constructors’ Championship next season, Personally, my first objective is to at least get back to sixth. Anything more than that would be a bonus.’ he told the Scotsman newspaper.