Date: 3rd February 2015 at 8:58am
Written by:

For a second consecutive day Sebastian Vettel in his new Ferrari set the fastest time of the day in winter testing.

Formula One returned to the track on Sunday for the first day of winter testing.

The first winter test of 2015 is taking place in Jerez, Spain with all the teams with the exception of Force India out on track.

Day One was surmised by Vettel and Ferrari being quickest, whilst Nico Rosberg and Mercedes completed the most mileage.

Meanwhile McLaren Honda struggled with Fernando Alonso completing just six laps.

On Day Two, the nothing changed with the exception of the drivers.

Vettel stayed in his Ferrari for a second day and improved upon his time set on Sunday, shaving almost two seconds off his previous best.

?It?s too soon to give a verdict on the true level of this car, especially as we can?t make a comparison with the other teams, who can be running different programmes, However, I?d say we have a good basis to work from.’ the former four-time Formula One World Champion told after the session.

For Mercedes, 2014 Formula One World Champion Lewis Hamilton took over from Rosberg and like his team-mate he completed the most laps of anyone adding 91 laps of running to Rosberg’s 157 laps completed.

But at McLaren Honda, Jenson Button could not improve upon Alonso’s six laps, instead the Brit could only match it and even that was at a slow pace, his fastest timed lap was 14 seconds slower than Alonso’s time and 35 seconds slower than Vettel.

Daniil Kvyat didn’t set a time for Red Bull Racing after he damaged his front wing early in the session. With no replacement the Russian could only complete installation laps running with no front wing.

Kvyat said: ‘Sometimes mistakes happen and there’s nothing you can do about them, After that we tried to maximise our day, not having spare parts to replace the wing. We still maximised our running with what we had and hopefully we can recover from that.’

Unofficial Monday testing times

1. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 1m 20.984s
2. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, 1m 21.867s
3. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, 1m 22.319s
4. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1m 22.490s
5. Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso, 1m 24.167s
6. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus, 1m 25.802s
7. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1m 54.655s
8. Daniil Kvyat, Red Bull, No time