Date: 14th December 2017 at 8:04pm
Written by:

From 2014 Formula One drivers were able to select their own personal driver numbers.

Prior to this drivers were given a number that was associated with the team they were driving for, this had been allocated in various ways down the years.

The only constant was the number 1, which was handed to the defending Formula One World Champion.

However Lewis Hamilton has always opted to remain with his personal driver number 44 and with Nico Rosberg retiring following his 2016 Formula One World Championship win, the number 1 has not be raced since 2014 with Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull Racing.

Since its inception, most drivers had been able to select their preferred choice of number as the concept was new.

However now that we are a few years down the line, Formula Two Champion Charles Leclerc, who will be driving for Alfa Romeo Sauber in 2018 had to settle for his third choice number.

?I wanted number seven first, but Kimi had it, then I choose 10 but Pierre came to F1 and chose number 10,? he told

?Then I wanted 16 because it?s my date of birth and I could not find anything better. And one plus six is seven, my favourite number.’